Barrie wins big this weekend!, News (Barrie Minor Hockey)

PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
Barrie wins big this weekend!
Submitted By Jill Robertson on Monday, January 12, 2015
Barrie teams win big this weekend!

Congratulations to Bantam AA, Minor Bantam AA, Peewee AA, Minor Peewee AA and Minor Atom AA for their championships at the BMHA Glenn Bellerby Moose Winooski tournament this weekend!

Our Peewee AE team won the Silverstick final this weekend too!

Minor Bantam AA

The Barrie Colts Minor Bantam AA Acchione Bros. team celebrate after winning the 20th annual Moose Winooski's Glen Bellerby Tournament. The team went undefeated for the entire tournament and in doing so, outscored their opponents 30-6. This is their third tournament championship of the season. Up next is the International Silver Stick. Good luck to the boys!

Minor Peewee AA

Team effort was the key to this weekend’s win at the 20th Annual Moose Winooski's Glenn Bellerby AA Tournament held in Barrie. The team, sponsored by Swiss Chalet, completed the four game round robin with two wins and two ties to finish in fourth place and secure the final spot in the Sunday semi-finals.


     Facing the first placed Rideau St. Lawrence Kings, a team the AA Colts tied in round robin play, proved to be the test needed to kick-start the day. Bolstered by two early goals by Leo Ducharme and Justin Morin, the Colts continued to dominate with strong performances from all positions. With the 2-1 win, the Colts entered into the tournament final facing the Whitby Wildcats. The team came out strong and continued to dominate throughout the three periods with goals from Alex Thompson and Justin Morin along with a shut-out performance from Parker McQuigge.


     Team members include: Taylor Prokopec, Parker McQuigge, Cole Palbiski, Mason Watt, Leo Ducharme, Keegan Annecca, Callum Kraft, Liam Brown, Michael Simon, Nicholas Mideros, Cam Fitzpatrick, Alex Thompson, Justin Morin, Mason Vanberkel, Eddie Maclean, Ty Armatage and Tye Burke. Coaching staff includes Head Coach Patrick Armatage, Assistant Coaches Tim Kraft and Doug McQuigge, Trainer Dave Ducharme and Team Manager Katherine Thompson.

Peewee AA

The Cubeit Portable Storage Barrie Colts PeeWee AA Team won the 20th Annual Glenn Bellerby Memorial Tournament in Barrie over the January 9-11 weeekend.

After going undefeated in the 4-game round-robin play, the team played like a true team on Championship Sunday; defeating the TNT Tornados 8-3 in the semis and the Clarington Toros 7-0 in the final.


This is the fourth tournament win this year for the PeeWee AA team.


Members of the PeeWee AA Barrie Colts are:  Aidan Desforges, Alex Howard, Ben Hennig, Brayden Barney, Cael Bisset-Cavallin, Caleb Minns, Cameron Knight, Cooper Tomkinson, Errick Evenhuis, Ethan Pegg, Jason Howell, Joey Johnson, Jordan Monbourquette, Owen Kellachan, Patrick Galloway, Ryan Hodge and Rylee Hlusiak.  Coaches: Kelly Kitchen, Rick DesForges, Anthony Cavallin, Zach Tomkinson, Brian Knight, Joe Johnson


Peewee AE

The Dr. Bob Stick Repair Peewee AE team won the 16th Annual International Pelham Silver Stick Finals this past weekend.  After posting 3 straight wins in the round robin play, their quarter final would pin them against a very strong Puckhounds quad from Temiskaming Shores Ontario. Barrie was up 3-1 but the Puckhounds came back to tie it up.  With only 1 minute left on the clock the Colts buried the puck to advance them to the semi-finals against a very strong Oakridge Aeros team.  After 3 periods of play the Barrie Colts again were victorious with a 6 – 1 win.  The final game seen two York-Simcoe rivals face off for the bragging rights.  It was a very intense game and after two periods of play the teams were dead locked at 1-1.  And for the third time in the Barrie Colts road to be named the International Silver stick Champions they scored with 1:45 minutes on the clock.  Before the final buzzer the Colts buried an empty netter to give them the 3 – 1 win over the Aurora Tigers.  Congratulations to the Barrie Colts Dr. Bob Stick Repair Peewee AE team, bench staff, and families.


Barrie’s roster includes, Ian Crane, Mackenzie Bradley, Tristan Forde, Jacob O’Conor-Fenton, Kyle Padley, Danny Sproule, Kaden Racicot, Griffin Collett, Joshua Coughlin, J. Johnathan Siriska, Jake Chapman, Devin Cecchine, Patrick O’Rielly, Brett Harvey, James Robb-Kennedy, Kyle Moen, and Spencer Young.

The Coaching staff includes head coach, Andrew O’Conor Fenton, assistant coaches Colin Padley and Gary Chapman, trainer Jason Couglhin, and manager Shona Chapman.


This article has been viewed 3088 times.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 26
    Barrie Minor Hockey has always been dependent on our volunteers to deliver our programs. This year, more than ever, we have many more new volunteers stepping up.  As many of you may have noticed, we have started to cancel games for the second week ...
  • 21
    As we prepare to roll out our season, we wanted to thank you for your patience and understanding as we navigate through this pandemic. We wanted to share a few reminders that will remain in place for the beginning of the season. 
  • 20
    Looking to improve your fitness off the ice to enhance your performance on the ice? Mind to Muscle's brand new IN-season Hockey Training Program is a great way for players to continually develop off the ice during the hockey season! 
  • 05
    The following update was posted to the OHF twitter page - 
  • 01
    When an individual becomes unwell with symptoms of COVID-19If an individual becomes unwell with symptoms of COVID-19, or if someone is aware of an individual that becomes unwell with symptoms of COVID-19, that individual must immediately stop ...
  • 29
    As we prepare to start our season and after much discussion, the Executive has decided that in order to deliver as safe a program as possible, we have updated our policy on parent’s access to all City of Barrie Arenas. This is temporary and will be ...
  • 02
    The BMHA now has gaiters for sale at a cost of $12.50 each or 4 for $45.00. They come in large and small sizes. If interested you may purchase them at [email protected] or by calling Keith at 705 790-0192. 
  • 28
    Season Timelines Ø Registration will open online only on Sept 1, 2020 Ø Payment by Credit Card only Ø Registration will close on Sept 15 or sooner as age groups fill up Ø Numbers will be limited in all age groups. Ø Pre-Season skates will occur ...
Printed from on Thursday, October 29, 2020 at 6:33 PM